Acupuncture Continuing Education

Acupuncture Muscle Building Research

Acupuncture helps to build and preserve muscle mass. New research reveals that both acupuncture and electroacupuncture prevent muscle atrophy. The research measured that acupuncture “recovered the skeletal muscle mass” and “ameliorated skeletal muscle atrophy by reducing mRNA expressions of the E3 ubiquitin ligases atrogin-1 and MuRF1.” Acupuncture also “increased the mRNA expressions of Akt1 and TRPV4.” As a result, the researchers note that the ability of acupuncture to prevent muscle degradation may “be due to an increase in protein synthesis and a decrease in protein degradation.”

Sports Stars Agree
Acupuncture has been helpful in muscle tissue recovery, building and preservation for over a thousand years. It is no wonder that modern sports stars make us of it. A.J. Burnett waited to sign with the New York Yankees until after they agreed to hire a team acupuncturist. San Francisco Giants pitcher Randy Johnson had one of the longest baseball careers in history and frequently received acupuncture from the team acupuncturist. Morten Anderson, former field goal kicker for NFL’s Atlanta Falcons, received two acupuncture treatments per week as part of his ongoing healthcare program. He retired from professional football at age 48 as the NFL’s leading scorer. Gymnast Nastia Liukin took the gymnastics women’s all-around Olympic gold medal home after using acupuncture to recover from her ankle injury. Other athletes using acupuncture during their professional careers include: Joe Montana, Michael Strahan, Dwayne Wade, Shaquille O’Neal, Jason Kidd, Vladimir Radmonovic, Fred Couples, Gary Player, Kevin Johnson, Steve Nash, Charles Barkley, Hot Rod Williams, Jeff Hornacek and Grant Hill (Phoenix Suns).

Acupuncture CEU Online

Gastrocnemius Muscle

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications. Volume 410, Issue 3, 8 July 2011, Pages 434–439. Acupuncture ameliorated skeletal muscle atrophy induced by hindlimb suspension in mice. Akiko Ondaa, Qibin Jiaob, Yasuharu Naganoc, Takayuki Akimotod, Toshikazu Miyamotoe, Susumu Minamisawab, Toru Fukubayashia.